Home > About Us > Overview
About Us


About Department of Medicine

The Department of Medicine is a large clinical department which plays a leading role in medical education and research, and provides clinical services to the communities of the Western Cape and, in the case of our highly specialised services, to patients throughout southern Africa. The Department consists of 21 clinical and service divisions, 11 major research units, and four affiliated departments of medicine at Mitchell’s Plain, New Somerset, II Military, and Victoria hospitals. Each day, members of the department treat an average of 2,000 patients in our clinics, admit about 100 patients to our hospital services and perform over 210 medical procedures. The department offers a number of highly specialised services that are unique nationally such as allergology, bone marrow, heart, kidney, and liver transplantation, cardiac electrophysiology, endobronchial ultrasound guided bronchoscopy, and double balloon enteroscopy for visualisation of the small bowel.

Structure of the department

The Department consists of 19 clinical divisions and 11 major research units. The clinical divisions are Acute General Medicine, Cardiology, Clinical Haematology, Clinical Immunology, Clinical Pharmacology, Clinical Skills Centre, Dermatology, Emergency Unit, Endocrinology & Diabetology, Geriatric Medicine, Hepatology, Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine, Lipidology, Medical Gastroenterology, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Pulmonology and Rheumatology.

The Department has 11 major Research Units: The Allergy Diagnostic & Clinical Research Unit, Albertina & Walter Sisulu Institute for Aging in Africa, Centre of Excellence for Chronic Diseases in Sub-Saharan Africa, Desmond Tutu HIV Research Centre, UCT/UCL Hatter Institute for Cardiology Research, UCT Leukaemia Unit, Lung Infection and Immunity Unit, UCT Lung Institute, MRC/UCT Liver Research Centre, MRC/UCT/UWC Research Unit for Traditional Medicines and the World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre for Drug Policy.

Our Staff

As of December 2016, our academic staff component comprises:

Position Amount of Staff
Professors (UCT & WCG)


Associate Professors (UCT &WCG)


Emeritus Professors


Emeritus Associate Professors


Honorary Professors


Honorary Associate Professors


Honorary Senior Lecturers


Honorary Lecturers


Honorary Research Associates


Visiting Professor


Senior Lecturers (UCT & WCG)




Junior Research Fellow


Medical Registrars (paid & Supernumerary)


Senior Registrars ( Paid and Supernumerary)


Medical Officers (paid and Supernumerary)


Professional Administrative and Support Staff (PASS)





Educational Activities

Senior students comprise 33 Doctoral and 77 Masters students. The department also plays a major role in the education of 936 undergraduate.

Clinical Service

Our staff provide clinical care to patients in our principal teaching hospital, Groote Schuur Hospital, and in its associated regional hospitals: New Somerset Hospital and Victoria Hospital, Mitchell's Plain Hospital, Brooklyn Crest Hospital, II Military Hospital as well as in the UCT Private Academic Hospital. The Department of Medicine at George Hospital is a satellite training unit of the department. Our expertise spans the full spectrum of internal medicine, including highly specialised areas such as renal, cardiac and liver transplantation.

Research Activities

We have a strong research ethic and have a rising research output in both the basic and applied medical sciences. Click here to view  Annual Research Report - 2015.